10 things to do before I hit 30!

7 01 2008

Image by ms4jah

Life is no brief candle for me. It is a sort of splendid torch, which I have got hold for the moment, and I want to make it burn as bright as possible before handing it on to future generations.

-George Bernard Shaw

No, 30 is not the beginning of the end. No, no, you got me all wrong, 30 is not when you start settling for less… 30 is just a milestone, is another year. For me, it just marks my end of recklessness and start of something more anchoring. I have often in past talked about overcoming fears and oft harangued mindsets to make a better you. Thought about applying the same for me. I took the pen and started jotting down things which actually excites me and makes me feel insecure/afraid.

Somewhere I read, that if you feel excited as well as afraid to do a particular thing ,then you should do exactly that. If you feel just excited it doesn’t probably challenge your preconceived mindset. If it just makes you afraid, there is nothing positive in it. The right mix of positive(excitement) and negative(fear) emotions is the apt thing. So here I am with my 10 to do list.

Each of the things below hold a quotient of fear, mortal harm, adventure or plain excitement. I am sure I will be doing these very soon and may come up with a list of 10 more very soon, but for the starters here it is. Just thought of crossing the thin line of fear and ushering into that of adventure.

1. Go to war zone with my DSLR camera on a fake international reporter ID

2. Go for paratrooping and log at least 100 hours in sky.

3. Script my own Motorcycle Diary for the Indian subcontinent.

4. Swim from Kanyakumari(the farthest point of Indian mainland) to Vivekananda Rock.

5. Go for a rock-climbing day.(no, not the MI-II style, with harnesses and ropes of course)

6. Capture really great photographs of my escapades and make girls and friends go wide-eyed…

7. Try fire walking at least once.

8. Learn three more languages taking up my language count to 10.(gee! I wanna be a translator)

9. Go to the seas with the fishermen for one day and live life like them.(very high on my priority list)

10. Open a restaurant with impeccable food, fantastic service and excellent in satisfaction quotient. The waiters over there will be knowing the individual tastes of each and every guest.

The list above is a Must list. Someday I want to do things like

Start a school where kids will not have any uniform, heavy bags or books.Someday I would like to even…

So when are you crossing your limits?

Stumble it!
If you like this post, then subscribe to it!
add to del.icio.us :: Add to Blinkslist :: add to furl :: Digg it :: add to ma.gnolia :: Stumble It! :: add to simpy :: seed the vine :: :: :: TailRank

Actions

Information

5 responses

8 01 2008
bonchibuji

great things to be done..similarly i also have a big list of things that i want to do…writing motorcycle dairy is also on my list:)

8 01 2008
Soham Das

Yeah ol’ boy ! πŸ˜€
Why don’t you write a similar post, and talk about them..

I would surely appreciate your mention of this place…

15 01 2008
Pradeep

I especially love that Rock Climbing part πŸ™‚ Count me in when you start making plans πŸ˜‰

15 01 2008
Soham Das

Sure man, you are always there, for such treks… πŸ™‚

and did you feel comfortable with the sidebar this time? Do let me know? πŸ™‚

Revamped it, quite a lot following the discussion that day πŸ™‚

13 04 2008
Soups to Nuts: The Last Call « The Soul and The Witness

[…] gone too deep. Dabbling with various diverse interests of mine[as you can very well understand from this post ], has made 30th April come way too soon, than I would like it to […]

Leave a Reply

